I miss Captain Awesome now

December 10, 2014 at 1:42 pm (Whatever happened to ...?) (, , , )

I’ve been re-watching old episodes of Chuck, which only has four seasons, no matter what anyone else might tell you. And as much as I love Chuck Bartowski and the Nerd Herders and John Casey and Sarah Walker, the character I’m missing the most is Devon “Captain Awesome” Woodcomb. And also the lovely Ryan McPartlin, who portrayed him. Awesomely.

Then they got married and had little Baby Awesomes.

Then they got married and had little Baby Awesomes.

So what is Ryan McPartlin up to nowadays? And is it awesome? I hope it’s awesome!

"Me too!"

“Me too!”

Anyway, Mssr. McPartlin was born in Chicago, and became an actor. According to IMDb, his Trade Mark (seriously, IMDb, this drives me nuts; trademark is ONE WORD) is his Towering Height. He is 6’4″, which explains why I love him.

And he started out as a model, because of course you would start out as a model if you look like this.

And he started out as a model, because of course you would start out as a model if you look like this.

Anyhoo, he broke onto the acting scene in 1999 with a role in The Nanny as Performer #3. The thing I remember about The Nanny is that Fran Drescher had an irritating voice, and then I changed the channel. After that, he had more one-and-dones in TV shows I didn’t even know existed, like Odd Man Out, Three Sisters and S Club 7 in L.A., which IMDb swears really exists, but I think had to be part of someone’s fever dream, because who names a TV show S Club 7 in L.A.? Also in something called North Shore and something called Model Family (which has to be about a family of models, right? Right?) and, most intriguingly, in an episode of Pepper Dennis entitled “Charlie Babcock’s Homosexual Encounter: Film at Eleven.”

Oh, and it looks like Rebecca Romijn is still getting paychecks too! That's nice.

Oh, and it looks like Rebecca Romijn is still getting paychecks too! That’s nice.

Then it was on to bigger and better things, or at least bigger, with a recurring (or possibly starring) role in Living with Fran, which I’m just going to go ahead and assume also starred Fran Drescher because 1) it’s funnier that way; and 2) I’m actually too lazy to check.

Here's another picture of Ryan McPartlin, because he sure is purdy.

Here’s another picture of Ryan McPartlin, because he sure is purdy.

From 2007 to 2012 (I’m not sure what 2012 is doing in there, because Chuck ONLY HAD FOUR SEASONS), he starred as Captain Awesome on Chuck, and he was awesome, and we loved him.

Also, he had a role on an episode of Mad Men in 2008, wherein he played Gentleman, which means that Mad Men has been on TV far, far longer than I realized. In 2010, he voiced Clutch Powers for Lego: The Adventures of Clutch Powers, which isn’t as awesome a name as Max Power.

See? Homer agrees with me.

See? Homer agrees with me.

He had a busy 2012, with roles in Hot in Cleveland, CSI: Miami, Necessary Roughness, Rizolli and Isles, and Daybreak, which I only just now remembered existed.

He just kept reliving the same day over and over, which, no wonder it got canceled, then.

He just kept reliving the same day over and over, which, no wonder it got canceled, then.

2013 was another busy year, with roles in stuff I don’t feel like mentioning, except Hart of Dixie, which I watched one time when I had a cold, and he wasn’t even in that episode, and also his character’s name was Carter Covington, which is, of course, the phoniest name ever that Dickens didn’t make up.

Yeah, I'm looking at you, Serjeant Buzfuz.

Yeah, I’m looking at you, Serjeant Buzfuz.

It looks like 2014 was another busy year for McPartlin, which means, I guess, that I’m not watching enough television, or he’s not guest-starring on The Americans or Brooklyn 99 enough, but he was on Bad Judge (with whatsisname from Veronica Mars!) and Mystery Girls, which I’m going to refuse to watch on principle, because IT STARS TORI SPELLING. Gah.

Someone once told me I look like Tori Spelling. Which I do not. At all.

Someone once told me I look like Tori Spelling. Which I do not. At all.

So, it looks like Ryan McPartlin is absolutely staying busy (he’s got several projects in the works). When he’s not acting, he’s a personal trainer and enjoys outdoor activities, and hangs out with his wife and their two kids. So that’s awesome, I guess, but … well, whatever, it’s not like they’re going to bring Chuck back for a fifth season or something.

God bless it, Chuck, you were SO GOOD for three seasons.

God bless it, Chuck, you were SO GOOD for three seasons.

 

Leave a Reply

