Coherence is, like, totally a good movie

January 2, 2015 at 1:10 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , )

I hadn’t heard of Coherence until it showed up on a few “best-of” lists because, as I’ve mentioned before, my stupid town never gets any good movies, ever, although we are getting The Interview in the smaller town 20 minutes away, because God Bless America and Freedom of Speech and all that.

Look, just 'cause Kim Jung-Un is an evil dictator doesn't mean he's not right about we shouldn't watch this movie.

Look, just ’cause Kim Jung-Un is an evil dictator doesn’t mean he’s not right about we shouldn’t watch this movie.

Anyway, I won’t be driving the 20 minutes to see The Interview, because that would just be silly, but I will take a moment here to highly recommend you also view Coherence.

Caption!

Because it’s really, really good.

See, it’s about this group of friends having a dinner party, which, like, standard indie-flick fare, fine, but then this comet passes overhead and we are all of a sudden in unsettling science fiction territory, because MULTIPLE REALITIES, guys!!!

Yes, like Fringe.

Yes, like Fringe.

And I really can’t say too much without giving the whole plot away, but the movie is really cool and good, and you will be genuinely frightened by people with red glow sticks, I swear, it is super creepy and wonderful, and this is why I’m not a film critic for realsies.

"I'm ashamed to even have my photo associated with this mess." -- the late Roger Ebert

“I’m ashamed to even have my photo associated with this mess.” — the late Roger Ebert

Leave a Reply

