Why do I like iZombie (the TV series)?

April 30, 2015 at 9:45 am (Randomosity) (, , , , , )

The truth is, I didn’t really like iZombie (the comic book). There wasn’t anything wrong with it; I’m just not that into ghosts and werewolves and all that jazz.

Jazz hands!

Jazz hands!

And when I found out they were making it into a TV show, my immediate reaction was: Meh.

Yes, even with art by the incomparable Mike Allred.

Yes, even with art by the incomparable Mike Allred.

But then I found out that the Veronica Mars guy was working on it, and I was all like Veronica Mars? I loved the first season of that show! Plus, it turned out they were getting rid of all the ghosts and werewolves and jazz, and keeping it way more based in reality with, you know, zombies, and so I was like: Meh?

What if Veronica Mars, but with zombies? (is how I imagine the pitch for this show going)

What if Veronica Mars, but with zombies? (is how I imagine the pitch for this show going)

So it turns out: iZombie (despite, oh dear God that name) is pretty good! Rose McIver is zombie Olivia “Liv” Moore, which is silly, but not as silly as her former fiance, Major Lilywhite.

He's, basically, Duncan from Veronica Mars if Duncan was whiter.

He’s, basically, Duncan from Veronica Mars if Duncan was whiter. And had a dumb name.

Anyway, Liv gets turned into a zombie at a party and goes from overachieving medical intern to underachieving zombie morgue girl (so she has access to brains, of course), and she solves crimes with the help of 1) her medical examiner boss, who is just so wonderful and I wish our medical examiner was as awesome as he is; 2) a detective who believes Liv’s a psychic; and 3) the psychic flashes she gets from eating people’s brains.

Yup.

Yup.

(Don’t ask. It makes sense in context.)

(It does! Really!)

(No, really.)

Then there’s an evil zombie, and a cute musician zombie who is actually less cute than the evil zombie, but who doesn’t like bad boys, right?…

"Oh, if only I could tame him." -- Lisa Simpson

“Oh, if only I could tame him.” — Lisa Simpson

…and there’s the secretly-a-zombie police chief, and the zombie rich lady who’s totally dead for realsies now, and the zombie chef lady at the meat restaurant, and seriously is Seattle entirely zombies now?

Probably?

Probably?

(My friends who live in the area, let me know! Is there some sort of zombie apocalypse hitting town?)

So it’s actually a better show than I was expecting, and I’m really liking it, and in the most recent episode they played one of my favorite songs, which is called, of course, Zombies, and also it ended with a zombie rat.

Also, Rose McIver is way prettier in the pasty makeup than anyone has a right to be.

Also, Rose McIver is way prettier in the pasty makeup than anyone has a right to be.

Basically, iZombie is the best zombie show ever.

Now to sit back and wait for the hate to roll in.

Now to sit back and wait for the hate to roll in.

2 Comments

  1. Natalie said,

    As far as I know, I’m the only zombie around here. And I haven’t bitten anyone…hard.

    • lokifire said,

      Hee! I was wondering if you’d survived the Seattle zombie apocalypse. I’m sorry you didn’t!!

Leave a Reply

