Some like Some Like it Hot

July 15, 2015 at 9:24 am (Randomosity) (, , , , , )

Last night, I took my mother to the movie theater to see Some Like it Hot. I’ve seen Some Like it Hot at least a dozen times, but I’d never watched it on the big screen before.

Because it was made in 1959, and I wasn't.

Because it was made in 1959, and I wasn’t.

Anyway, it’s one of my favorite movies, and it was totally worth the $5 admission fee. (Although my mother saw some people walk out, which is ridiculous, because how can you walk out on one of the funniest movies ever????)

"Not enough fart jokes."

“Not enough fart jokes.”

There were actually a few people in the audience who had never seen it before, which was neat — when Marilyn Monroe makes her first appearance, someone gasped loudly: “There she is!”

There she is indeed.

There she is indeed.

And of course, everyone adored the best tango sequence ever

They are the cutest movie couple EVER. I hope those two crazy kids will be happy together.

They are the cutest movie couple EVER. I hope those two crazy kids will be happy together.

… and I got, for the first time, the joke with the grapefruit. (Y’see, George Raft plays Spats Colombo, this gangster type, and he just about smooshes a grapefruit into the face of one of his bodyguards/yes men, which is totally a reference to James Cagney’s Public Enemy.)

Poor Mae Clark, shown here in her most famous movie scene.

Poor Mae Clark, shown here in her most famous movie scene.

Then at the end, when everybody was riding off on the boat together to get married (especially Daphne and Osgood) and the classic line was uttered (check out entry number five), everybody clapped.

Or, at least, I clapped really loudly.

Or, at least, I clapped really loudly.

Leave a Reply

