Mr. Holmes: A review, belatedly

August 11, 2015 at 9:40 am (Randomosity) (, , , )

Mr. Holmes finally showed up in my town this weekend, and I was so excited! So I dragged my daughter to the movie (it was PG, after all), and we got some popcorn, watched some terrible, terrible trailers, and then we watched the movie.

As to be expected, Ian McKellen was brilliant.

"Elementary, my dear Lokifire."

“Elementary, my dear Lokifire.”

The little boy playing Roger was brilliant.

And so adorable, I just wanted to mommy-pinch the HELL out of his round widdle cheeks.

And so adorable, I just wanted to mommy-pinch the HELL out of his round widdle cheeks.

The movie was … sad.

I mean, for one thing, Ian McKellen doesn't defeat anyone at fisticuffs!

I mean, for one thing, Ian McKellen doesn’t defeat anyone at fisticuffs!

I went in expecting it to be a film based on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s writings (of which there were, indeed, a few about Holmes as an elderly man), but it turned out the movie was based on a novel by some other guy, which is what happens when your popular character hits the public domain, I guess.

"Huzzah! Now any old hack can write about me!"

“Huzzah! Now any old hack can write about me!”

Anyway, it’s a story about Holmes trying to remember his last case (which ended in failure), dealing with his memory loss and learning to love. So it’s not really about Sherlock Holmes at all. It’s about some old guy who used to be a detective, and now he raises bees and he thinks this kid is awesome.

"Hey, kid, I think you're awesome. Let's always be friends."

“Hey, kid, I think you’re awesome. Let’s always be friends.”

But Ian McKellen was brilliant.

He even sold the bit where he's sad because this lady kills herself and her awesome hat, like, *pfft*, Holmes would care about anyone's death, whatever.

He even sold the bit where he’s sad because this lady kills herself and her awesome hat, like, *pfft*, Holmes would care about anyone’s death, whatever.

Leave a Reply

