I went to Portland, and I saw Beirut

August 27, 2015 at 9:56 am (A Misanthropist Goes to the Shows) (, , )

… And then I came back and couldn’t think of any clever post titles.

Anyway! This last week, I went to Portland, Ore., and saw Beirut, my current favorite band.

Here they are, in a boat, with musical instruments.

Here they are, in a boat, with musical instruments.

Portland was nice, especially the part where I got hit on while riding the train.

Pictured here: A swingin' singles club, apparently.

Pictured here: A swingin’ singles club, apparently.

But Beirut was awesome. They were all like: Flugelhorn this and trumpet that and here’s some accordion, y’all!

They also whipped out this little number, which is probably a ukulele, I think.

They also whipped out this little number, which is probably a ukulele, I think.

They opened with Scenic World, and then they played Elephant Gun, which I mistakenly called Postcards from Italy, and then they played Nantes, and I was like, oh, oops, that’s Postcards from Italy, and then later they played Postcards from Italy, and I was like, how am I such an idiot I can’t remember the names of songs by my favorite band except for Postcards from Italy?

Also, they played three songs off their soon-to-be-released new album, which were awesome and I can’t wait, and there was this nice couple in front of us (I brought my daughter and my mother) who made sure nobody blocked our way, so I could see Zachary Francis Condon flugel his little horn out!

No, you're the dirty one, thinking that's what I meant.

No, you’re the dirty one, thinking that’s what I meant.

So it was quite lovely, and then the next day I got up at 5 a.m. and drove for eight hours.

And then the next day I drove some more, and now I hate cars.

And then the next day I drove some more, and now I hate cars.

Leave a Reply

