One Million Muppets can’t be wrong

September 24, 2015 at 9:34 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) ()

One Million Moms doesn’t like the new Muppets show, but who can blame them because it’s hard when your old favorites change, and are new and different and sexy.

Ewwwww.

Ewwwww.

In their press release on their own site (which I’m not linking to, so go suck, One Million Moms), they ask:

How many parents want to explain the punchline of sexually charged jokes to young children?

And I thought, “Well, at least one, because it would be embarrassing for my daughter if she’s the only one on the playground who doesn’t get the sex jokes.”

Which is why, when we watch Archer together, I make sure to explain all the sex jokes for her.

“… You’re a terrible mother.”

7 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    The frustrating thing for me, is that I was kind of hoping to boycott this show based on the annoyingly contrived “Kermit/Piggy” divorce social-media circus. But between my longtime love of the Muppets, and the condemnation from One Million Moms, I’m probably gonna have to give it a shot 😦

    (Also, sorry for what I said about Marilyn Monroe! She’s the best, I suppose!)

    • Jamin said,

      Kinda like how this feud between Trump and Fox News now has me almost wanting to watch Fox News. I really have a problem with needing to like things that people I don’t like hate. I need to learn that the enemy of my enemy isn’t always my friend 😦

    • lokifire said,

      Ha, yeah, the new Muppets sounds just awful, but stupid One Million Moms is making me want to watch it, just to tick them off (and have my daughter watch it with me, and then we can make awful sexually-charge jokes, and say how wonderful Marilyn Monroe is), but for God’s sake, just because Fox News is right to hate Trump doesn’t mean they’re right about anything else!!!

      • Jamin said,

        Yeah, I’m sure that were I actually to start watching it, their pervasive xenophobia and misogyny would quickly cause me to snap back to my senses. Oh, also their “persecuted majority” complex.

      • lokifire said,

        My aunt once asked me why I didn’t watch Fox news.
        “Don’t you want a fair and balanced report?” she asked.
        My aunt is a millionaire and a Mormon. We … don’t have much in common.

  2. brikhaus said,

    I liked the first episode. People are mad because it isn’t exactly what they remember from their childhood. But they can’t just rehash the same show from the 70s, it would fail too hard. They need to update it if they want to stay relevant. And the first episode was well written and enjoyable. I hope it succeeds.

    • lokifire said,

      Especially to spite One Million Moms!

Leave a Reply

