Why didn’t I like Crazy Ex-Girlfriend?

October 19, 2015 at 9:34 am (Randomosity) ()

First off, I want you to know that I hate musicals. Except for Mary Poppins, and that’s only because of Bert anyhow. So Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, with all its singing and crazy ex-girlfriending didn’t seem like it would be in my wheelhouse anyway.

"A musical about stalking a dude? Sign me up!" -- Something I've Never Said

“A musical about stalking a dude? Sign me up!” — Something I’ve never said

But then I saw a review on the AV Club for it, exhorting me (possibly not me specifically, but that’s how I like to think of it) to ignore the terrible title and give it a try anyway. Conveniently enough, Fox was rerunning it on Friday evening, the day I would be out doing stuff with my friends, had I any stuff to do and any friends to do it with.

Pictured here: Probably not my suicide note.

Anybody out there like silent films, Sherlock Holmes and comic books? Because I would love to chat! No, seriously! Call me up!

“Well, the AV Club’s never steered me wrong before,” I said, out loud, to myself, because why let the show have all the crazy?

And it turns out the title is totally wrong anyway, because she’s not a crazy ex-girlfriend, she’s the crazy chick-he-hooked-up-with-at-summer-camp-one-time. Like, seriously, who takes a summer camp hookup that seriously? I hooked up with guys left and right at summer camp, and I would be hard pressed to recognize one if I saw him on the street, let alone remember his name, let alone move to California to be with him.

I would, however, enjoy riding on a giant pretzel.

I would, however, enjoy riding on a giant pretzel.

(Editor’s note: I’m just kidding, my darling hookup from summer camp! Every moment of our time together was special, and is a treasured memory for me, and you were absolutely the only one I hooked up with at summer camp, and I definitely remember your name, and would surely recognize you if I happened across you.)

So, yeah, they got the “crazy” right, but the “ex-girlfriend” part not so much. So after several jokes that didn’t land for me and one really annoying musical sequence, our heroine arrives in California and starts working at a law firm, where her boss is a blonde and blue-eyed Chippewa!

A thing I just learned is there are boots called "Chippewa."

A thing I just learned is there are boots called “Chippewa.”

And that was where I absolutely lost it, because I am SO SICK of white people playing American Indians, and I get that it was a joke, but dammit, I’m part Chippewa Cree and I’m no wolf-painting office decoration stereotype, and so it wasn’t even funny, and then the guy kept saying dumb things about Jews, and I was like: “Bigotry is not that funny,” and then it seemed like they were going to sing some more, so I gave up and turned off the television.

Also, like the guy's even cute enough to stalk all the way to California, SHEESH.

Also, like the guy’s even cute enough to stalk all the way to California, SHEESH.

 

7 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    If you’re really running short of people to talk to, I’ll have to make sure to stop by the store on Sundays more regularly. I try not to overdo it so I don’t start annoying you >.>

    • lokifire said,

      You’re a sweetheart!
      Just be prepared to have your ear bent about silent movies. I just watched Son of the Sheik. It was far superior to The Sheik.

  2. brikhaus said,

    I wonder if this is somehow inspired by the Overly Attached Girlfriend meme on the internet?

    I haven’t even heard of this show, and I’ll be certain to steer clear of it now, thanks.

    What did you think of the “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” jokes about Native Americans? That, I think, actually was funny, but it probably only worked because the girl’s parents were really played by Native Americans.

    • lokifire said,

      I haven’t watched it — I’ve heard it’s really hilarious and I love Jane Krakowski, so I’d probably be more willing to let it slide … especially if there’s actual American Indian people playing American Indians!!

      • Jamin said,

        All of the “racial” humor in that show was actually really well handled. It was very clear that it was always meant in an affectionate way, and it was also very even handed (i.e. one of the best jokes in the series, imo, was an inversion of the tired old “Haha, Asians have names like ‘Dong’ or ‘Wang’ or other nickname for male genitalia”).

      • lokifire said,

        I’ll have to check it out if both Jamin and Brik are recommending it — put together, you guys like most of the same things I like, except for silent movies. You guys should watch more silent movies. Then we could have a pajama party!
        … Maybe not the pajama party thing.

    • Jamin said,

      I was very disappointed to discover that the “Overly Attached Girlfriend” was not nearly as intense and crazy in real life as she seemed in those videos. She was on the episode of Wil Wheaton’s Tabletop when they played Cards Against Humanity, and she was so obviously uncomfortable, it took a lot of the fun out of that episode. Aisha Tyler was awesome, though…

Leave a Reply

