See you in hell, Drambuie!

November 23, 2015 at 11:08 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) ()

For Christmas a couple of years ago, I asked for a bottle of Drambuie. There were several reasons for this request, the four most pertinent being: 1) I like whiskey; 2) I like honey; 3) Drambuie is basically just whiskey and honey; 4) I couldn’t afford to buy a bottle myself.

Guys, Drambuie is, like, so expensive.

Guys, Drambuie is, like, so expensive.

After opening my Christmas present and pouring myself a celebratory libation, I discovered several things about Drambuie, the most pertinent being: 1) It tastes the way Old Spice smells.

... Probably the same amount of alcohol as Drambuie, anyway.

… Probably the same amount of alcohol as Drambuie, anyway.

Saddened and dismayed, I found recipes for drinks including Drambuie, hoping the Old Spice flavor could be drowned out if you add enough other liquors.

It can't.

It can’t.

But after two years of misery, last night, my bottle of Drambuie was low enough that I realized I could finally finish it off.

Huzzah!

Huzzah!

… Anyway, now I feel just terrible.

2 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    This is why I never drink whiskey. Except for the times that I do.

    • lokifire said,

      It turns out I really like Canadian whiskey, which Drambuie is not.

Leave a Reply

