Commercials are so weird

November 24, 2015 at 2:37 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

I just saw a commercial for cat litter with an odor blocker so powerful you can’t smell the cat poop at all.

Seriously!

The lady in the commercial has her lady friends over, and they’re sitting around a coffee table or whatever, and she stuns them all by PULLING THE LITTER BOX OUT FROM UNDERNEATH THE TABLE.

“I didn’t smell anything!” they coo. “Amazing!”

And that’s how you can tell it’s a commercial, because in real life, if someone did that, her friends would say: “You are the worst person ever.”

"Damn you. Damn you and everyone you love."

“Damn you. Damn you and everyone you love.”

3 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    But… assuming they’re not telling bald-faced lies–which they probably are–that’s a pretty effective commercial. At least it’s better than all those commercials that don’t even give you a hint about what the company or product actually does.

    • lokifire said,

      BUT SHE HAD CAT POOP IN HER LIVING ROOM. SHE IS THE WORST PERSON EVER AND NO ONE ACKNOWLEDGES THAT.

      • Jamin said,

        Oh, I agree. It is certainly not a realistic portrayal of anything resembling real life. But I’ve always felt that the primary goal of any commercial should be to present the features of the product/company in question, and, if possible, to do it in a memorable way. Clearly, in both regards, this commercial is a success. Had I seen this commercial and owned cats, I would purchase this product, which is more than I can say for 99.999999% of all other commercials out there.

        Granted, I admit that I am weird. I have had a guiding philosophy re: advertisement since I was about 10. I’ve always refused to purchase from any company whose commercials are vague or insult my intelligence, and conversely I’ve always felt that I should “reward” companies who make commercials that are clever or entertaining. As a result, I will not shop at Old Navy to this day, thanks to their atrocious Old Lady and Dog commercials; and I still have a soft spot for both 7UP (“Make 7, UP yours!”) and Sprite (many commercials in the era of the Benedictine Monk parody jingle), despite not being much of a soda drinker at all.

Leave a Reply

