‘Splosions galore: I finally saw Fury Road

December 22, 2015 at 11:05 am (Randomosity) (, , , , )

A holiday tradition of mine is to wrap presents while watching a movie while my daughter is at her dad’s house. For several years, it was Returner, and then it was Hot Fuzz, and this year it was Mad Max: Fury Road, and my presents look just terrible because it was SO EXCITING.

During this part, I might or might not have peed my pants a little, it was so exciting.

During this part, I might or might not have peed my pants a little, it was so exciting.

I mean there were explosions here and explosions there and THE WORLD’S LONGEST CAR CHASE and character development, which was weird, because why would you even need character development with ALL THE SHOOTING GOING ON? Also, there was some sort of Truck of Rock Music that was powered by guitar riffs, which was AWESOME, and people fighting on swaying poles, and CHARLIZE THERON IS A GODDESS AND I LOVE HER.

Tom Hardy continues to do nothing for me, I'm sorry.

Tom Hardy continues to do nothing for me, though, I’m sorry.

Anyway, it was really awesome, I and regret not going to see it in the theaters, but I will be seeing the new Star Wars some time after Christmas, and you can read all about my impressions here, but it’ll probably just be SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE, because, yea! New Star Wars movie!

SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

13 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    I know, right?! Fury Road was definitely the best action movie I’ve seen in… possibly ever. And I am cautiously optimistic for new Star Wars. I’ve heard good things so far, and the people saying them seem to be reasonably confident that it’s not simply “‘one really cool fight scene’ hangover”, like what caused us all mistakenly to think Phantom Menace was a good movie for a couple days after first seeing it.

    • lokifire said,

      I thought you would have already seen it! I had a few guys come into the store on Sunday that had, and they all liked it. So me and P are going some time after Christmas, and we’re hoping it’ll be good!

      • Jamin said,

        Nah, I don’t do opening weekends. I despise crowds. I’m going to a matinee with my sister and my aunt and a couple friends on Friday.

      • lokifire said,

        That’s smart. One of the guys I talked to said he went last Friday for the matinee and it wasn’t crowded at all.

        Although I just realized THIS Friday is Christmas day, and everybody will be going to the movies because they’re sick of spending time with their families, so you’re screwed.

      • Jamin said,

        Hah, crap, you’re probably right! Actually, in all seriousness, my family has gone to matinees on Christmas for many years, and it’s seldom busy. It’s busier than most matinees, but still not nearly as bad as evenings. So… cautious optimism on this matter, as in all matters regarding this movie. đŸ™‚

      • lokifire said,

        Well, I’ll be cautiously optimistic for you too, then. I guess it does make sense that evening would be busier, because people are probably still eating Christmas dinner in the afternoon and not quite ready to kill each other yet….

      • Jamin said,

        Maybe if you catch it Saturday, we can compare notes if I stop by the store on Sunday.

      • lokifire said,

        Unfortunately, we have our family gathering on Saturday, because our family is too big to get together on Christmas.
        No, I don’t understand it either.
        And, yes, I mean UNFORTUNATELY. Stupid family.

      • Jamin said,

        *consoling pat on the shoulder*

      • lokifire said,

        *sniff*
        Thank you.

  2. Jamin said,

    Holy crap, it was good! Star Wars is Star Wars for the first time in almost 30 years (or more, depending on your view of RotJ). Definitely let me know once you’ve seen it so we can geek out over it!

  3. brikhaus said,

    Fury Road was by far the best movie of 2015. I’m so happy you liked it!

    • lokifire said,

      I knew I would, I just had to get around to actually watching it.
      Now I have to get past the whole “I hate Mel Gibson so much for turning out to be such a creepy anti-Semite” thing and re-watch the originals, because I LOVE them.

Leave a Reply

