Freedom of speech, etc., etc.

February 8, 2016 at 1:59 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) (, )

This weekend, my daughter and I went shopping at a store I’d worked at when I was in college. When we checked out, I couldn’t help but notice the boy working the register had tattoos covering his forearms.

“Jeez,” I remarked to my daughter. “When I worked here, they made me cover my tattoos.”

"AND I had to wear a tie!"

“AND I had to wear a tie!”

“Oh, I would never let them do that,” said the eavesdropping clerk. “That’s a violation of your first amendment rights!”

“Uh, not really,” I said.

"This excerpt from the Constitution and I think you have a WILD misunderstanding of how the first amendment works."

“This excerpt from the Constitution and I think you have a WILD misunderstanding of how the first amendment works.”

6 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Not only that, but it’s disturbing how few people realize that issues like that aren’t even about whether or not your employers mind your tattoos, but rather about whether or not your prospective customers do. Like…we live in Montana, a pretty stinking conservative state. How much sense does it take to realize that if you’re working a service job, you try not to offend your quite-likely-easily-offended customer base?

    • lokifire said,

      The answer to your question is: “More sense than that boy has.”
      Because I’m sorry, but he is a very stupid boy.

      • Jamin said,

        True. Fortunately for us the whole First Amendment issue has become a very useful social litmus. “Oh, you think that someone disagreeing with you violates your right to free speech? Well, thank you for helpfully informing me that I can disregard anything else that comes out of your mouth!”

      • lokifire said,

        Ha! It’s true, even if it’s someone whose OTHER views I might agree with.

  2. brikhaus said,

    The U.S. Supreme Court ruled that money = speech, so why not tattoos, as well?

    • lokifire said,

      Because you can’t bribe politicians with tattoos, you silly Brik!

Leave a Reply

