I need to hydrate or something, I guess

March 9, 2016 at 10:37 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

The sister-in-law of the 57-year-old man brought in two photos. The one from high school showed him as a floppy-haired guy with an awkward grin.

“What a great photo,” I said. “I would have totally had a crush on him in high school!”

Later, the 57-year-old man’s brother came in.

“So, I hear you went to high school with my brother,” he said.

“Um, no,” I said, politely not pointing out that my birth mother was too young to have gone to school with his brother.

"Yes, actually, I was his teacher, and not someone who was born several decades after he was."

Is this what I look like to people? Is this why people insist on calling me “ma’am” all the time?

2 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Well, maybe you were an underclassman of the dead 57-year-old? 😉

    • lokifire said,

      I know where you live, Jamin.

Leave a Reply

