On cold showers and loneliness

March 24, 2016 at 10:03 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) (, )

My daughter loves Readers Digest (I suspect this is because, secretly, she is a 70-year-old woman, as she’s also a fan of Wheel of Fortune), and recently quoted to me from an article on what you can learn about a person from their house.

She also enjoys crocheting and pinching small children on the cheek and saying, "My, how you've grown."

She also enjoys crocheting and pinching small children on the cheek and saying, “My, how you’ve grown.”

“It says that people who take long, hot showers are probably lonely,” she said meaningfully. “They try to make up for missing the warmth of human contact with the warmth of a shower.”

“Well, what does it have to say about people who have to take lukewarm showers because the water heater sucks, huh?” I replied. “What does it say about them?”

Does it say they're even MORE pathetic, and they should probably just buy a new water heater?

Does it say they’re even MORE pathetic, and they should probably just buy a new water heater?

She just looked at me sadly and shook her head.

4 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Totally not sure whether to laugh or cry. On one hand, hilarious exchange. On the other, this hits really close to home.

    • lokifire said,

      I just WISH I could have a warm shower to ease my loneliness. Stupid crappy water heater.

  2. brikhaus said,

    Time to buy a new water heater. The one we have goes from zero to insta-scald in about three seconds. It’s kind of horrible. You know what, why don’t we just trade?

    • lokifire said,

      Sounds good, considering our heater is less than a year old and HAS SUCKED FROM THE BEGINNING I HATE YOU SO MUCH YOU STUPID WATER HEATER.

      I’m okay now. I am.

Leave a Reply

