Digging too Deeply: Me Too

May 18, 2016 at 11:28 am (I Overanalyze Song Lyrics) (, , )

Lately, my daughter has been listening to a lot of terrible pop music. I assume it’s her father’s influence, because I only like things that are good, like Battlefield Baseball and the scene in Evil Dead 2 where you can see the rope holding up Bruce Campbell.

I also really like the part where he traps his possessed hand under a bucket and weights it down with a copy of Hemingway's "A Farewell to Arms."

I also really like the part where he traps his possessed hand under a bucket and weights it down with a copy of Hemingway’s “A Farewell to Arms.”

Anyway, the song my daughter likes now is this total earworm by Meghan Trainor, Me Too, so I thought, hey, while it’s stuck in my head for the rest of my life, why not analyze the lyrics, huh?

We should also probably analyze the mind of the person who came up with those costumes.

We should also probably analyze the mind of the person who came up with those costumes.

So we’ll do just that.

Who’s that sexy thing I see over there?
That’s me, standin’ in the mirror
What’s that icy thing hangin’ ’round my neck?
That’s gold, show me some respect

This is an odd little beginning, because I think Meghan Trainor is looking at herself in the mirror while wearing a gold necklace, and she is talking to herself. And she is disrespecting herself while doing so.

"Bitch, why ya gotta be disrespectin' me?"

“Bitch, why ya gotta be disrespectin’ me?”

I thank God every day
That I woke up feelin’ this way
And I can’t help lovin’ myself
And I don’t need nobody else, nuh uh

Yes, she is definitely alone.

Just me and my giraffe hoody, against the world!

Just me and my giraffe hoody, against the world!

If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too

And here, she’s speaking to a hypothetical “you,” telling them that she understands their desire to be her, because she is awesome. So awesome that she has to say she would wanna be herself too SIX TIMES.

"I should really probably fire my stylist, though."

“I should really probably fire my stylist, though.”

I walk in like a dime piece
I go straight to V.I.P.
I never pay for my drinks
My entourage behind me
My life’s a movie, Tom Cruise
So bless me, baby, achoo
And even if they tried to
They can’t do it like I do

Here, I had to turn to Google, because I am an old person, and when I saw “dime piece,” I thought it meant “dime bag,” and we were talking weed all of a sudden. But it turns out that a dime piece is just a really sexy woman. So Meghan Trainor (who, you might remember, is conversing with a reflection of herself) asserts here that she walks into places like one fine piece of tail (see? old person talk, right there.), heading straight to the important person section, where her drinks are all free (or at least billed to her accountant), with an entourage behind her.

For your viewing pleasure: These. A thing that exists.

For your viewing pleasure: These. A thing that exists.

Then I think she has a seizure or something, because the next section is a bit of a mess: “My life’s a movie, Tom Cruise, So bless me, baby, achoo.” What the hell does that even mean?

"Sometimes even I sneeze too?"

“Sometimes even I sneeze too?”

Then she reminds us that she is awesome, and we should all be so lucky as to be her:

I thank God every day
That I woke up feelin’ this way
And I can’t help lovin’ myself
And I don’t need nobody else, nuh uh

If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too

Again, SIX TIMES.

Meghan Trainor then invites us to turn the bass up …

(Turn the bass up)
Turn the bass up
(Turn the bass up)
Let’s go!

… which seems like a good idea, because these lyrics are seriously just the worst.

Although it might just be a callback to her earlier, equally annoying song.

Although it might just be a callback to her earlier, equally annoying song.

The song wraps up with this sentiment once again:

I thank God every day
That I woke up feelin’ this way
And I can’t help lovin’ myself
And I don’t need nobody else, nuh uh

If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
If I was you, I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too
I’d wanna be me too

That’s TWELVE TIMES. TWELVE TIMES that Meghan Trainor says she’d want to be herself too, were she someone else. You know what that’s called? That’s called overcompensation. So Meghan Trainor isn’t really saying “you should aspire to be me, because I am awesome,” she is saying “my life is terrible ever since I sold out to The Man, I’m so lonely and my self-esteem is suffering, please won’t someone see this as the cry for help that it is?”

Either that, or she’s actually saying: “I’m too famous to bother memorizing lyrics, so let’s just go with this, okay?”

You know, she looks, just, so tired. It's probably the first one. Poor Meghan Trainor.

You know, she looks, just, so tired. It’s probably the first one. Poor Meghan Trainor.

4 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    My god, those lyrics are awful. Also… “walk in like a dime piece,” implying that she’s not actually a “dime piece” just walking like one. *sigh* This crap, right here? It’s why I like k-pop (which does not include Psy). I get the catchy, upbeat tunes, but without being able to understand how awful the lyrics are.
    Also, full disclosure: I, too, was under the impression that “dime piece” was the same as a “dime bag.” But I guess it’s just a really dumb(er) way of saying “she’s a 10”?

    • lokifire said,

      OH MY GOD, THAT EXPLAINS IT! A DIME IS A 10! Gaw, I can’t believe I didn’t get it. It’s prob’ly ’cause I’m so old.

  2. brikhaus said,

    What the hell is a “dime piece?” Also, Meghan Trainor sucks. She is terrible. I’m sorry you have to listen to this garbage.

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, just wait until Baby Brik is older and wants to listen to crap. She will! They all do! It’s terrible.

Leave a Reply

