The Purge the Third

July 1, 2016 at 10:28 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, )

Guys, this isn’t funny anymore.

There is a THIRD Purge movie. I really don’t understand how this is a successful franchise. Are the movies that good? That cathartic?

A horrific peek at the future to come?

A horrific peek at the future to come?

Anyway, two years ago I blamed everybody for the sequel, and now I’m blaming them for the … wait, what the hell do you call the third entry in a franchise?

"Seriously? Who cares?" -- Hollywood

“Seriously? Who cares?” — Hollywood

The third Purge movie looks just like the first two: Night of mayhem, crime is legal, everybody wears stupid masks.

It seems like it would be hard to commit murder with these godawful masks covering your faces, but what do I know?

It seems like it would be hard to commit murder with these godawful masks covering your faces, but what do I know?

Enjoy it if you go, I guess.

And if there’s a fourth, I will never forgive you.

 

4 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Technically, the third movie is still a sequel. The word derives from sequential, not from second. And, yeah, I agree that it’s baffling that they made more than one of these movies. While it wasn’t my thing, I could almost see the value in the first movie. But what more can be done with that premise?

    • lokifire said,

      But isn’t it the sequel to the SECOND movie?
      I mean, I feel like I shouldn’t call this thing a “trilogy,” though, you know?

      • Jamin said,

        Well, best case scenario is that it is, in fact, a trilogy. But we all know there isn’t enough good left in the world for that to be true.

  2. brikhaus said,

    I haven’t seen any of them, so I can’t speak to their quality. However, I will say that this one at least seems mildly intriguing, as the Purge night is being used to stage a political assassination. So, they are at least attempting something different with the premise.

Leave a Reply

