My brother and I don’t have much in common

September 26, 2016 at 9:48 am (Top Ten) (, , , , , , , )

So, while my brother and his wife are in town, my daughter thought it would be fun if we spent some time together, so we ended up watching one of the best movies ever, The Princess Bride. Which my brother had never heard of before, somehow.

When it was over, he suggested, since I like The Princess Bride so much, that I should read Nicholas Sparks‘ The Notebook.

"I ... can't believe you would say that to me."

“I … can’t believe you would say that to me.”

So here’s a list of ten things that make equally as much sense as that recommendation.

1. So, you like Filet Mignon, huh? You should try this hamburger I got at McDonald’s.

They're both made of cow parts, probably.

They’re both made of cow parts, probably.

2. Oh, you’re a fan of Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scherezade? Have you tried listening to Meghan Trainor?

"Ugh. Yes."

“Ugh. Yes.”

3. You enjoy Alan Moore’s Watchmen? You should check out Garfield, in the daily funnies.

4. Japan is your favorite place to visit? I’ll bet you’d love camping.

Large cities and the great outdoors have so much in common, after all!

Large cities and the great outdoors have so much in common, after all!

5. Michael Phelps is your favorite competitive swimmer? I think you should give Ryan Lochte a try.

"Buh?" ... is my go-to sound effect for all Ryan Lochte photos.

“Buh?”
… is my go-to sound effect for all Ryan Lochte photos.

6. You liked Miyazaki’s Spirited Away? You should watch The Secret Life of Pets.

7. Oh, so you’re into Grant Morrison’s Arkham Asylum? You’d probably really like Batman V. Superman.

Ha! Just kidding. Nobody liked Batman V. Superman.

Ha! Just kidding. Nobody liked Batman V. Superman.

8. You’re a fan of Marilyn Monroe? Have you seen Lindsay Lohan’s later works?

... And also that time she posed like Marilyn Monroe?

… And also that time she posed like Marilyn Monroe?

9. Gustav Klimt is your favorite artist? Maybe you should hang up this page I ripped out of an adult coloring book.

10. You like well-written stories that aren’t sappy, but are filled with humor and action? No, really, did I already recommend Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook?

It's definitely a book for someone who appreciates really good writing.

It’s definitely a book for someone who appreciates really good writing.

7 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    …wow. I’ve always thought that The Princess Bride is an excellent social litmus. Haven’t watched it? I’m gonna be wary of you. Don’t get it/don’t like it? I’m not going to waste time talking to you. Fortunately, your previous stories had already told me that your brother is probably not my kind of person. But this post most definitely cements that thought.

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, we REALLY don’t have much in common.
      (And seriously, how can you recommend The Notebook to someone who likes Princess Bride????)

  2. Natalie Drennon said,

    πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  3. brikhaus said,

    The Notebook…ugh…

    Also, I just watched The Princess Bride for the very first time this year. But I had at least heard of it, so that makes me an OK person, right? The movie was good, but I think it falls victim of overhype. Probably one of those movies best watched as a kid when you have no expectations, and then you would be blown away, I imagine.

    Hilarious post!

    • lokifire said,

      NO THE MOVIE IS GREAT YOU ARE WRONG AND WE ARE NOT INTERNET FRIENDS ANYMORE.

      I might have overreacted a bit there.

      • brikhaus said,

        B-but I said it was good… 😦

        What I meant to say was “It was glorious, a triumph, the pinnacle of human achievement, the greatest film ever committed to celluloid.”

        I hope we can be friends again.

      • lokifire said,

        Well, I guess.
        But so help me, if you recommend I read anything by Nicholas Sparks, we are THROUGH.

Leave a Reply

