Today, I am ashamed

November 9, 2016 at 10:20 am (Randomosity)

I had hoped that I lived in a country where people wouldn’t vote for someone who gives them an easy scapegoat for all their problems.

I had hoped that I lived in a country where people wouldn’t vote for someone who treats women as objects.

I had hoped that I lived in a country where people wouldn’t vote for someone who says if we give the rich tax breaks, it will benefit the poor.

I had hoped that I lived in a country where people wouldn’t vote for someone who insults disabled people, and women, and dark-skinned people, and anyone who isn’t exactly like him.

I had hoped that I lived in a country where people wouldn’t vote for a hatemonger.

I had hoped that I lived in a country where my neighbors wouldn’t tell their daughter that “Hillary kills babies” and “Obama is a terrorist.”

I had hoped that I lived in a country where the woman I met at my work who described her own granddaughter as “the little darkie” was the exception, not the rule.

I don’t live in that country. I am ashamed of us. I am ashamed of myself for not being able to convince more people that love should triumph, not hatred.

Today, I am ashamed.

Tomorrow, I will carry on.

6 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    fuck everything

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, this is a bad day. 😦

  2. Jamin said,

    I have to believe that the vast majority of people who voted by Trump are not actually hateful, but rather are just too goddamn stupid to realize that his faults are worse than any of Hillary’s supposed faults. I try to apply Hanlon’s razor as much as possible (Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.).

    It’s the only way I can stay sane at a time like this.

    • lokifire said,

      I hear you, and that’s what I figure too. But it still sucks that they couldn’t see how awful he is … from HOW AWFUL HE IS.

  3. Natalie said,

    I moved away from a backwards state because I thought it would be better some place else. But the election showed me that there is no escape from hate and ignorance.

    • lokifire said,

      It’s heartbreaking, isn’t it?
      I keep running into people here who are so happy Trump won, and I can’t even look at them without wanting to vomit.

Leave a Reply

