Speaking of TV I don’t enjoy

January 2, 2017 at 5:33 pm (Randomosity) ()

… Here’s a list of television shows I’ve been watching lately that are kind of awful.

The Great American Baking Competition. My mother and my daughter love this show about people baking stuff and then we don’t get to eat it.

And nobody even says "I'm not here to make friends," and they're all just so nice.

And nobody even says “I’m not here to make friends,” and they’re all just so nice.

Ransom. I watched what was clearly the first episode of this paint-by-numbers procedural last night because I think I’m suicidal or something, seriously, why didn’t I do anything else? And at the end, it was all like: “New episodes! Saturday evening, where TV shows go to die!” So clearly CBS thinks as highly of it as I did.

This show couldn't be more mediocre if it tried.

This show couldn’t be more mediocre if it tried.

Some procedural on ABC that has Iceman or his twin brother in it, and I can’t even bother to remember the name of it. It’s some show about how they try to save people from execution, I think? And they were trying to get this girl who murdered her rapist out of prison? And then it turned out she wasn’t the real murderer? And I was like, “Um, it’s obviously the rape counselor?” And 20 minutes later, the characters were like, “Oh, it’s obviously the rape counselor?”

I know you thought I was joking, but I literally can't remember and don't care about the name of this show.

I know you thought I was joking, but I literally can’t remember and don’t care about the name of this show.

To Tell the Truth. This actually had a Soul Train dancer and a Solid Gold dancer show up, so, by default, it is the best thing I have watched on television lately.

... I should probably just try to watch old episodes of Soul Train.

… I should probably just try to watch old episodes of Soul Train.

4 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Can a show legally even be called a reality show competition if no one says, “I’m not here to make friends”? Pretty sure it’s in the Constitution or something.

    • lokifire said,

      I know, right? Plus all the desserts they make are so weird.

  2. sonofabuck said,

    Coincidentally, I just saw the Soul Train/Solid Gold episode of To Tell the Truth last night before going to bed. Jam-packed with awkward, yet laughter-inciting gems, right? (I became a fan of the “nostalgia” summer programming this past year that included To Tell the Truth, $100,000 Pyramid, and Match Game, so their return during the winter doldrums is very welcome in our home.)

    Also – and forgive me if I’ve forgotten a previous post about it – have you seen the original, British version of the baking competition, appropriately titled The Great British Baking Show, which airs on PBS and is also carried on Netflix? The American contestants are very kind, but the British folks are even more lovely and gracious. And, of course, the delightful Mary Berry serves as a judge on that version as well! I suspect you and your mom will like that one just as much, if not more.

    Finally, many thanks for your voice of reason and humor in this oh-so-strange world. Wishing you and yours a wonderful new year!

    • lokifire said,

      Thanks, sonofabuck. You’re good people. 🙂
      I have not seen the British version, but I’d probably hate it because reality TV show people SHOULD NOT BE NICE. It’s a rule.
      Seriously, though — I usually don’t enjoy reality programming unless it’s accidentally terrible. But not so terrible it’s just bad. Accidentally terrible into awesome like, I don’t know, that godawful Joe Millionaire. That was terrible and wonderful.
      You have a good year too. Take care!
      Love,
      Loki

Leave a Reply

