Powerless is cute, I guess

February 3, 2017 at 12:36 pm (Randomosity) (, , )

My biggest problem with Powerless is that every time Vanessa Hudgens is on the screen (and she is the main character, so she is on the screen a lot), I get really angry because she is a national park-grafittiying jerk.

There's only one celebrity worse for national parks, so FIGHT THE POWER, rogue National Park twitter accounts!

There’s only one celebrity worse for national parks, so FIGHT THE POWER, rogue National Park twitter accounts!

Anyway, her character is the perky, always-look-on-the-bright-side kind of person that just rubs me the wrong way.

STOP SMILING I HATE SMILING.

STOP SMILING I HATE SMILING.

But the show itself is funny, and I like the other characters, because they are mean and broken like me, and also they hate Vanessa Hudgens, because how can you not?

"UGH HOW IS SHE SO PERKY?" "I KNOW, RIGHT?"

“UGH HOW IS SHE SO PERKY?”
“I KNOW, RIGHT?”

The pilot episode establishes that the characters work for Bruce Wayne, inventing things to protect the powerless from supervillains (and also the fallout from superheroes, as evidenced by one character saying the number one cause of workplace injury is Superman crashing through windows), and they’re not doing great, and everyone gets fired, but then Vanessa Hudgens comes up with a brainstorm, which is silly, because she is NOT an idea man, and then all their jobs are saved. And then Batman uses a similar invention to fight a bad guy, and the characters and my daughter are all like: “Wow, what a coincidence,” and I shook my head in shame because I have told my daughter Batman’s secret identity so many times I probably qualify as a supervillain by now.

We do plan to go see the Lego Batman movie, so hopefully by then I can stop explaining it to her.

We do plan to go see the Lego Batman movie, so hopefully by then I can stop explaining it to her.

2 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    “…I have told my daughter Batman’s secret identity so many times I probably qualify as a supervillain by now.” That made me smile so hard. But then I had to stop so you won’t hate me 😦

    • lokifire said,

      Well, I didn’t see you smiling, so I guess it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

