The Lego Batman Movie is a study in cute

February 23, 2017 at 12:20 pm (Randomosity) (, , )

This weekend, my daughter and I saw The Lego Batman Movie. This was to make up for that time I promised her we would go see The Lego Movie, but secretly I didn’t want to, and then we never saw it. She likes to remind me of that from time to time, and also that lying is wrong.

"And that is why I've decided to apply for emancipation."

“And that is why I’ve decided to apply for emancipation.”

Anyway, I don’t know how The Lego Movie is, but The Lego Batman Movie is very cute. Their little Lego bodies are cute. Their little Lego faces are cute. The references to various movie villains is super-cute, because AWWWWW THEIR SAURON IS MADE OF LEGOS IT IS SO CUTE.

Insert unintelligible baby talk here.

Insert unintelligible baby talk here.

I’ve heard people describe The Lego Batman Movie as the best Batman movie ever, because those silly guys clearly aren’t familiar with this work of staggering genius, and also my personal fave from the late ’80s.

At one point, I even owned the novelization, because that is how I roll.

At one point, I even owned the novelization, because that is how I roll.

I mean, it’s got a pretty potent storyline (Lego Batman is afraid of losing people, probably because he has lost Legos in the carpet before and then stepped on them with his bare feet), but the best Batman movie ever?

It doesn’t even have Batdance!

FACT: Everything is better when Prince is involved.

FACT: Everything is better when Prince is involved.

2 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    I enjoyed Lego Batman, but it definitely wasn’t as good as the Lego Movie. Did you ever watch Clone High USA back in the late ’90s-early ’00s? If you did, and you liked that show, the Lego Movie was written by the same guys who did Clone High. They are legitimately clever guys. I know they had some involvement with the Lego Batman movie, as well, but I don’t believe they were the primary writers.

    • lokifire said,

      Never heard of it before, sorry.
      It looks like you’ve outgeeked me once again, friend nerd!

Leave a Reply

